Into the Woods: Sequoia

The most businesslike of the wands I have is a big sequoia wand.

img_0373.JPG

To me, sequoia embodies collective wisdom acquired over hundreds or thousands of years. Looking out on the world with that kind of long lifespan, a sequoia doesn’t get caught up in all the moment-to-moment things that characterize life on the human time-scale. We live moment to moment. As children, an hour is an eternity. We are pulled in the contradicting directions as we grow older of seeing life as very long and very short. We can easily take things in stride because we have already experienced so much, or we can become frantic to do many things because we feel like we don’t have much time left.

Anyway, the unique thing about this particular wand is that it has a piece of goethite in the handle. Goethite is a stone that forms in such a way that its crystal structure looks like the pipes of a pipe organ. It is supposed to be excellent for accessing the music of the spheres.

One other note about sequoia. Whenever I see the name of this tree, I am powerfully reminded of Sequoyah, the Cherokee chief who gave his people a written alphabet. So the sequoia, for me, is also tightly bound up with ideas of speech, communication, expression and passing on stories and lessons from generation to generation.

This wand is clearly a “working wand” for me. I don’t go looking for it when I want something light and fun (that’s lilac). I don’t pick it up when I want insights into my overall journey through this life (that’s jin dai maple). And I don’t seek it out when I’m trying to sort through my own mix of emotions (that’s rosewood).

But if I’m working on “Soul Essence” pieces, or if I’m preparing for a piano recital, sequoia is an invaluable tool. Last night, thinking about writing this post, I put it under my pillow before going to sleep. In the only dream I can recall, I was in a hotel room. It was the morning after one big recital I had played and I had another one that night. Nothing else, just waking up in this hotel room and being aware that I was suspended between two concerts of my own.

I’m sure “Soul Essence” composition will be beginning soon, most likely in April. My guides have been sending musical fragments again. It’s not as if they’re saying, “OK, enough rest! Let’s go, let’s go, let’s go!” It’s more like, “Just reminding you that you’re going to need to start working on these again soon, so be sure to pay attention to what you need.”

So this wand will be set aside until April, when I will certainly need its teaching again.

Explore posts in the same categories: Crystals and Stones, Dreams, Family and Friends, metaphysics, music, Properties of Wood, Reiki, spirituality

2 Comments on “Into the Woods: Sequoia”

  1. tobeme Says:

    This is all very interesting. I am enjoying your lessons on wands.

  2. halfnotes Says:

    Tobeme,

    I have to give you a lot of credit for sticking with this blog while I took this long detour through a metaphysical forest! It’s pretty atypical blog material, and I think many people are put off by it because of society’s general misconceptions that anything having to do with metaphysics is necessarily evil. This is also why many people have a hard time understanding my strong Christian beliefs and background. To them, you’re either one or the other, but never both. I started this whole journey for my own learning benefit, but I sincerely appreciate that you’ve hung around and shared the ride with me. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

