Into the Woods: Rowan

The second wand I polished myself was made from more wood from Japan. At first, we thought it was Japanese wild pear, but it turned out to be rowan instead.

img_0375.JPG

It was perhaps as different than the blue ebony I’d just done as I could have gotten. It’s soft, light wood, and in its polished form, it’s almost white. The wand itself is also much thicker and longer than the blue ebony.

I enjoyed polishing it, too. I love seeing just how smooth I can make the wood, although part of this is paying attention to how smooth the wood itself wants to become.

But while I enjoyed the sanding and the polishing, I have always felt that this wand is not mine. I still feel this, although now, I think I know who it’s destined for.

That knowing is nice, too. I don’t like keeping things I’m not going to use, and while I’ve played with the wand occasionally, it hasn’t been in the regular rotation of the ones I return to often.

In order to let the recipient have first experience of it before I say what I think the wand is like on a metaphysical level, I’m going to leave this post on a bit of an ambiguous note. Maybe I’ll write more about it after the wand has reached its rightful owner.

Explore posts in the same categories: Family and Friends, metaphysics, Properties of Wood, spirituality

Leave a Reply

