Into the Woods: Box Elder

It seems that, when it comes to tools for use on my spiritual and metaphysical journey, I am the recipient of a lot of “lucky accidents”.

I played with the little lilac wand for a long time before getting another one. That one came home with Ted after a visit to Frank and Maggie’s. He handed it to me and said, “Look at this.” To which, my reply was, “Thanks!”

img_0360.JPG

I, as usual, had no intention of getting another wand; I was still under the impression that one would be more than enough. But, apparently, the universe had other ideas, and I had a long, quirky wand to prove it.

If you go looking for written information on box elder and its metaphysical properties, you’ll find little if anything. Most of the time, I read things about wood or stones to see what other people have to say, not because I expect the wood or stones to behave in any particular way for me as an individual. In fact, I’ve probably raised more than a few people’s eyebrows with my own opinions on what they do and don’t do, which, aside from some minor unpleasantness, doesn’t affect me much. (Minor unpleasantness because, by nature, I’d rather keep the peace than upend it!)

Well, it didn’t take long to discover what this particular wand was for. I began calling it “The Melody Maker” because it seemed to make it very easy for me to tap into that place where material for “Soul Essence” songs comes from. So, if I needed help getting things to flow more freely, I would meditate with the wand or put it under my pillow at night. And if I needed a night uninterrupted by musical fragments, I’d set it aside.

It was a polar opposite to the lilac. It was almost too long for its own good; I had to lay it slantwise in the drawer I keep my wands in for it to fit at all. The lilac is round, but the box elder is squarish, with flat sides and no little dippity spot between the “handle” and the rest of the wand. It was also more flexible. It bent slightly when I used it, and for the first week or so, I was always a little afriad I’d break it.

Well, I haven’t yet, and while I’m not using it right now (my imposed down time ends for “Soul Essence” on April 1 or around thereabouts), I’m sure it’ll be back in action this year.

Explore posts in the same categories: Family and Friends, metaphysics, music, Properties of Wood, spirituality

2 Comments on “Into the Woods: Box Elder”

  1. tobeme Says:

    I don’t have much understanding of “wands”, however I do find this very interesting.

  2. halfnotes Says:

    Tobeme,

    A wand is just something you hold in your hand to focus your mind for whatever you are trying to do, i.e. meditation, healing, manifestation, etc. In and of themselves, wands don’t “do” anything. But they are tangible reminders of what we are capable of when our minds are clear and focused.

    As an example, no music comes “out” of this boxelder wand; but for whatever reason, it helps me tap into the place in my mind where music does come from.

    Thanks for the visit and comment.


Leave a Reply

