A Scattering of Pebbles

Last year, as I was beginning my journey into healing, crystals, reiki and “Soul Essence,” I began carrying a small bag of stones with me on my travels, and I began looking for stones in the places I traveled to.

The searches for stones to bring home haven’t always been fruitful. Often, the stones I bring back aren’t for me, and I take delight in giving them as small tokens of affection to people when I come home.

But on this trip, for the first time, I carried two little bags of stones: one contained my own personal collection used for healing, whether it was myself or someone else, while the other bag was filled with stones I had no intention of bringing back home.

I am by no means an expert on stones and crystals, but I am deeply interested in them and what they can convey to us that’s important for our continued evolution as human beings on a spiritual path. I also don’t have anything remotely resembling an exhaustive collection, so I don’t have a storehouse to draw on in choosing stones for people.

I am gradually building up what I have on hand, but right now, the list is short and eclectic: rose quartz, hematite, moonstone, carnelian, and ruby with kyanite. I also had a few pieces of Dalmatian jasper and aventurine before last week, but they went into my little bag of “stones not to be returned home,” and of course, they aren’t here now.

Not everyone needs a stone, and different people will appreciate and use them in different ways. A ten-year-old will play with them, name them, bring them to life in her imagination and set them on all kinds of fabulous adventures. She’ll appreciate them for how smooth they are, or the way they’re shaped. For her, they’re special because of when she got them, or because of who gave them to her. The healing properties have no meaning for her, and why should they? For her, the world is a place of unfolding drama and wonder, and stones are just another small part of that big, wide world.

For someone in their fifties or sixties going through one of life’s severe rough patches, whether it’s family-related or career-centered, the drawing power of stones can be anything, from the way the light hits them and reminds him of artwork or a recent conversation. For him, the meaning behind the stone is deeper, and it will be unique to each individual.

One thing I learned, or maybe I should say relearned, on this trip is that we often have no idea what someone needs. As a healer, we can have all kinds of ideas about why we think they should have one stone or another. But in the end, over and over, I was prompted to let them choose for themselves. In every single case, they chose the stones I would have expected, as well as some I would never have guessed. If I had only given them what I thought they needed, I would have closed a door of opportunity for them to discover lessons they needed, and I also would have lost the chance to see the wisdom of the universe in action, unbounded and unhindered by our own limitations or perspectives.

So I could watch, smiling inwardly, as someone who had lost touch with their heart picked up rose quartz, or another who was too busy to stay connected to himself and his truth pick up hematite and carry it around for days afterward so he could keep touching it. I would have missed the gratitude from someone caught off guard by generosity and reminded of the stillness and peace that’s at the core of us if we only pause to look inside. I also wouldn’t have witnessed the delight of a child who has made one stone into a princess and another into an opera singer and who spends the next hour regaling everyone (but mostly herself) with the goings-on between the two.

When I left, I thought, “Gee, this is a lot of rocks to carry!” I thought I’d never have the opportunity to give them to anyone who could use them. And yet again, I was surprised. When I thought what people might need was hands-on healing, the chances to do it always seemed to slip away. Yet in the five minutes it took to give the same person their stones, I touched more deeply and got to the root of things than I could have in an hour of hands-on work, and all because I took myself out of the equation, gave freely when prompted without questioning, and just took it on faith that it was right.

Stones are interesting little things. We get them in our shoes and complain about the pain and nuissance of them; we dig them out of our gardens, cursing the way they seem to sprout like unwelcome fruit with every spring thaw: we pour them on our driveways, put them in rivers to change their course to suit our needs, throw them, skip them, pile them up, dump them out. We polish them, cut them, heat them, dye them. Yet we have no idea, until we step back and let the universe speak, what any one of them can do for any one of us.

In giving stones, I don’t give many instructions beyond, “Do with these what feels right to you.” Whether it’s to rekindle a heart, restore inner peace, or represent an opera singer, it doesn’t matter. People learned from stones this week, both giver and receiver.

Explore posts in the same categories: Crystals and Stones, Family and Friends, metaphysics, music, Reiki, spirituality

Leave a Reply

