Fuel for the Day

It’s cold this morning! I came in from walking the dogs and was thankful for our warm house.

Many mornings, I’ll do E-mail before breakfast, but this morning, I decided to do breakfast first. With no students scheduled today, I’d made big plans: get my tax papers in order, practice, work on a composition for a friend. Not work for an empty stomach.

So I made oatmeal with raisins, walnuts and applesauce. THat’ll be fuel enough until lunch, which I guess will be chicken tortilla soup.

Don’t get all excited; the soup is from a can. I wonder how they keep the little dumpling things they call “tortillas” from getting squishy sitting in the broth in there. There’s probably a chemical with a really long, unpronounceable name that does it, and then I wonder what that chemical does in my body. Hmmmmmmm, better not to think about it, just eat the soup.

As for dinner, I wouldn’t mind a repeat of last night. My mom brought us a lasagna (no skimping on cheese, sauce or meat), so I had that with a bottle of beer and then “Fudge Brownie a la Mode” ice cream for dessert. Unhealthy? Probably, but it tasted great, and I slept great, too (thanks, beer!).

But there’s only one piece of lasagna left, so either my husband or me would have to eat something else, so …

Well, it was good while it lasted! Now, off to crunch numbers …

Explore posts in the same categories: Food

2 Comments on “Fuel for the Day”

  1. ombudsben Says:

    What kind of beer? I’m maybe stuck in a red wine rut when eating Italian, but I could see a nice, palate-cleansing lager. Less so an ale. I’d avoid a hearty stout or porter.

  2. halfnotes Says:

    It was a lager. I’d tell you the brewery, but I can’t spell its name! So, when I find out how to do that, I’ll let you know (they don’t Braille the beer cans, darn it!).


Leave a Reply

