Come In From the Cold

Winter is full of sparkle, at least right after a new snow.

The white stuff started falling yesterday in the midafternoon and kept up into the evening. It made the dogs sneeze, brushed my shoulders as it came down, and made a car swerve off the curve in the road just before our house.

The air was full of the scent of woodsmoke, and the chill nipped at my cheeks.

This morning, I didn’t really want to get out of bed. I began thinking fuzzily how bears really do have the right idea about hibernating all winter.

But Kiefer was anxious to be up, and he wanted me up too so he could have breakfast and a walk. So, up I got.

I took the dogs out after they were done eating, and we walked out into a shining world. The sun was bright, and I knew it would be one of those days when the rooftop warmed enough to make all the snow on it melt, the rooms in our house would be flooded by light and energy, and there was no way I could feel sluggish anymore.

I went inside, had my own breakfast, then shoveled the front steps and sidewalk. I practiced as I had promised myself I would, then read.

It’s not much, but I enjoyed every bit of it. I found myself being content, moving around my house, talking to my husband, petting the dogs, making plans, dreaming of tomorrow and beyond.

Explore posts in the same categories: Dogs, Family and Friends

2 Comments on “Come In From the Cold”

  1. ombudsben Says:

    Yes, bears have the right idea about winter. But we wake up more often and get to savor how nice it is to be warm and cozy in our beds while it is so cooooold outside.

    Do you have a birdfeeder at all? Birds do fine in winter if they get enough fuel to keep their tiny little furnaces going. I’ve heard birds starve more often than they dying of cold.

    I miss winter birds–the occasional cardinal or waxwing among the jays, chickades and sparrows. We also kept a suet log for the woodpeckers–they loved the fat!

  2. halfnotes Says:

    No bird feeder, but with lots of trees around, there’s plenty of birds. I think of chickadees as winter birds, because often, they’re the only ones making any sound in the snow. Even the crows and bluejays shut up when it’s really coming down, but it seems you can always hear the chickadees.


Leave a Reply

