Our Stories, Ourselves

“Our stories contain the answers to each other’s questions. What I cannot find in searching through the riches and rubble of my own life may become apparent to me in witnessing yours. In the passing on of our stories, we gift each other with the power of possibility. When I watch you claim your life and go after your dream, I begin to believe I can do it too. When I see what you risk to achieve what you want, I think that I too could take that chance. When I hear what you have suffered while I see you trudging forward, I believe I can make it to the other side of my own darkness. What can save us, if it is not our stories, not the careful sharing of who we are and what we dream for a world whose future rests in our hands?”

(Reprinted from “The Braille Monitor”, November 2006, Volume 49, No. 10, a publication of the National Federation of the Blind)

Explore posts in the same categories: spirituality

Leave a Reply

