Wands Are Not Idols

Some may see wands and crystals as idols; I see them as tools given by God.

When I was a child, I thought of God as loving and angry. I understood that He loved me, but, after reading the Bible, I also concluded that, no matter what I did or tried not to do, I was always doing something wrong, and God was angry with me.

I was afraid of God, but even more afraid of going to Hell. I spent more time worrying about the things I unknowingly might have done to land there than on what I could be doing in the present moment to show God’s love to others.

As I got older, I started wondering; How could a God who was all-loving at the same time condemn people to eternal damnation?

How did I know God was loving?

First of all, any God that made us in His own image must see something lovable in each of us, since we are nothing more and nothing less than reflections of Him.

Second, any God that would become human and walk among us as our equal and as our God at the same time must love us quite a bit.

But if God is so vast, and each individual human being is a reflection of His glory, and He permeates all things so that we can never be apart from Him, then, as I understand it, Damnation is impossible.

Some might say that those who don’t believe the Bible literally are damned: that those who question God’s existence are damned: that those not part of a specific church are damned: that those who do certain things or don’t do other things are damned.

God is bigger than any idea we have about God. His Mind is larger than all our human minds combined, and, try as we might, we will never understand God completely.

So, I say, there are many ways to know God. God knows we are an infinity of differences, so why should access to God be limited to only one path?

God gave us stones, sticks (wands) and other things as tools to turn our minds and spirits outward and inward simultaneously. We aren’t worshipping the stone or the stick, but using it to collect our scattered thoughts and come to a deeper realization of God.

Stones are infinitely beautiful. Trees amaze us with their variety and abundant usefulness for us. God’s spirit permeates them in a way different than it permeates us. But it is there all the same, waiting for us to see it and catch our breath long enough to turn our minds to God.

Explore posts in the same categories: Crystals and Stones, metaphysics, Properties of Wood, spirituality

4 Comments on “Wands Are Not Idols”

  1. sudarishi Says:

    Dear 1/2notes…

    I’ve started to find another beautiful being on the webspace, sharing such B-E-A-Uuuuutifullllll thoughts :) on GOD.

    You were RIGHT when you thought this:
    “God is bigger than any idea we have about God. His Mind is larger than all our human minds combined, and, try as we might, we will never understand God completely.

    So, I say, there are many ways to know God. God knows we are an infinity of differences, so why should access to God be limited to only one path?”

    There is a similar idea propounded by GOD in the eternal wisdom that
    “as the rain drops that fall into different rivers find their way to Ocean, so does all the ways & paths men take to realize different shapes & forms of GODs lead to Me… the ONE GOD.”

    Even Jesus would have felt the same as this & even Krishna would have preached the same…

    People like you are a Gift to the Humanity. Spreading such Loving thoughts & building up harmonious thought patterns on the Completeness of the OMNIPRESENT, OMNIPOTENT, OMNISCIENT, which cannot be fathomed in one single way or cannot be confined to one single religious idea. Such broad mindedness is a Necessity of the present TIME!!!

    Love to read & be possessed with all such thought patterns of yours…

    My Heartfelt Thanks on sharing a part of me in your beautiful words…

    Love & Light
    O

  2. halfnotes Says:

    Dear Sudarishi,

    I started this blog with two goals;

    1. to remind myself of important lessons I am learning: and

    2. to let one thing I say benefit one person in their own journey.

    Of course, there is a lot of information on the Internet, and finding like-minded people is like searching for a needle in a haystack.

    I am very honored that you have taken something of value to you from here. I am also amazed by this. I am always amazed when I can provide someone with something of truth. I hope I never lose that sense of surprise and delight.

    Blessings,

  3. abritt5004 Says:

    You are a truly geniune person and i admire that in you. Thank you for your understanding, many people are not open-minded at all. I feel and believe your words about belief in GOD. It’s not just one thing we use to get close to him it’s many things, we just have to keep searching to find it or it comes to you in your dreams, in the car, washing dishes, watching tv, it can happen anytime. Faith takes place anytime.

  4. halfnotes Says:

    Yes, faith is a small word for a big idea, and I don’t think there should be any restrictions placed on it by other human beings. Our relationship with God is between us and God, not between us and other people. Great ideas!


Leave a Reply

